Your true self

SW-Avatar       It´s tricky but i´ll get it in the end.

MM-Avatar      Here you are; try using this wooden thing to poke it out.

SW-Avatar       How am I supposed to get my paws around that Mr. Midnight?  You can´t even properly hold the thing yourself.

MM-Avatar       I´m only trying to be of service.  Fancy knocking it behind the warmth generating thing on the wall.

author-Avatar       Hi boys.  What´s happening?  Have you lost something?

SW-Avatar       We were both feeling a little bored, what with the water dropping out of the sky all the time, and so I decided to have a “kick-about” with that sweetie wrapper you scrunched into a ball last night while playing with us.

author-Avatar       At least you managed to find out where  the wrapper got to.  And now you´ve got  it  stuck behind the radiator?

MM-Avatar       We can´t help it daddy.  It´s raining cats and dogs outside.

SW-Avatar       That´s a strange expression Mr. Midnight. Where´d you pick it up?

MM-Avatar       Mr cool Dog from next door uses the term quite a lot.  I love copying his cool habits.  But when  thinking  about it, I don´t want to copy ALL of his habits. He´s got some very embarrassing habits you know.

SW-Avatar       Well he´s a dog.  He´s bound to have some strange habits.  I do love watching him in a morning though, you know, when he takes his human for a walk.  He loves to lead and show his human who´s in control.  He´s so sure of himself.  I couldn´t behave like that.

MM-Avatar       I don´t particularly want to behave like that.  If I had to take daddy for a walk everyday I´d get tired very quickly.  We cats are not supposed to take humans for walks. That´s a dogs thing, although I´ve also heard that dogs are supposed to walk behind their masters.   Still, Mr Dog is very cool and he does love doing things quite the opposite.

author-Avatar       I´ve managed to remove your “ball” from behind the radiator.

SW-Avatar       Thanks daddy.  My legs were not long enough to stretch behind the radiator.

author-Avatar       No problem. Perhaps you should play in the living room next time. The study is rather small.

MM-Avatar       We will daddy.  There´s not enough room to swing a cat in the study.

SW-Avatar       I beg your pardon Mr Midnight.  Which of us two is going to get swung around the study?

MM-Avatar       It´s only a figure of speech Sir Winston. Keep your britches on. Nobody´s swinging anybody today.

author-Avatar       Mr. Midnight means that there is not enough room to play in the study.  Don´t worry Sir Winston.  I think Mr. Midnight´s copying Mr Dog again.

MM-Avatar       I don´t know what britches are anyway.  It just sounds like a nice word.

author-Avatar       Britches (or breeches) are knee-length trousers so I don´t think Sir Winston has to worry about keeping his britches on.  He doesn´t wear any.  🙂

SW-Avatar       Fancy copying other peoples words when you´re not sure what they mean.  It seems  rather daft if you ask me.

MM-Avatar       Well I´m glad that  daddy let the cat out of the sack because now I´m more the wiser.   🙂

SW-Avatar       And what´s with all these strange “cat” expressions.   You wouldn´t get me in a sack.

author-Avatar       Mr Dog  has certainly got  his influence upon you Mr. Midnight.  You´re starting to frighten Sir Winston.

Like I´ve already said.  If you´re going to use words and sentences you should be aware of what they actually mean.  It´s neither cool or hip to use words when one is not aware of  their real  meaning.

MM-Avatar       But people do things like that all the time.  I just wanted to try and “slip into the groove” of your society.

People love cool things.

author-Avatar       But there should also be some authenticity to your “cool” actions.

Why not create YOUR OWN cool image instead of copying from others?

MM-Avatar       It could be a little bit like hard work but thank you daddy, I´ll chew your wise words over.

??????????        If you find daddy´s words too dry when chewing them over have a bowl of milk afterwards.   That always works wonders.   😉

??????????          I´m not the same as Mr Dog but I can still be cool – but in my own, special way.

SW-Avatar       That sounds like a very good idea Mr. Midnight. Discover your own individuality and give us all a break from those terrible, human cat expressions.

MM-Avatar       And you stop being such a scaredy cat Sir Winston.  Words can´t harm you.

author-Avatar       I think they can! Words are more powerful than you think.

MM-Avatar       Well I´m going to think about what daddy said about being individual and cool, which reminds me. Purrrhaps I may also have a bite to eat with which to accompany my “chewing of words” activity.

SW3       And I´m  going to chill  a bit more  and  not take life so seriously.  After all, if you wish to enjoy life to the full one must be authentic  and  true to oneself.

 

10 thoughts on “Your true self

  1. It is true guys that we humans do try and make our companion pets be different to their true selves…cats of course being the least compliant of them all 🙂 and so more true to themselves….now back to your game of sweetie wrapper tennis 🙂 hugs Fozziemum

    • Hey, hi Fozziemum, says Mr. Midnight. Give me a big high five! Nice to hear from you again.
      Sir Winston says that we cats can´t help being less compliant than other creatures – we´re simply true to our instincts.
      Mr Midnight adds; that´s why the ancient Egyptians used to worship us! 😉
      I say; ” thank goodness that that part of human history is behind us otherwise I´d be eaten out of my home having to feed my two cheeky little devils”.
      Thanks for your reply. Best of greetings from us all in the Black Forest.

      • The boys say that they´ve never had such a big hug from so far away. You´ve made our day. Sir Winston adds that you seem to be very sympathetic and not just because of your kind comments but because of having taste and Egyptian statues in your house.
        We all wish you a great day “down under”. 🙂

      • Hahahah thank you I am sure the boys would love my Bast statue that guards the Catnip here;) …my girls freaked when they first saw her..they have become accustomed to her now in role as protector of the ‘nip’..they however still do not like my Tutankhamun…strange! And we wish you all well up there:)

      • Sir Winston can well believe it. He thinks that Tutankhamen is enough to scare anyone away. Although a bit heavy on the eye-liner, Mr. Midnight quite likes the eye make-up of Mr. Tut.. He believes the Egyptians had a go at trying to create cat eyes which he finds sympathetic.
        I aplogise for the present dialogue. My lads seem to now be thoroughly engrossed in all things Egyptian. 🙂

      • I think I have to agree with the boys..my love of all ancient Egypt is the connection with Cats…go figure…I am currently looking at a design for a slender armband tattoo that will encorporate cats and the place they hold in my heart..finding something un tacky is of course the real chore..i will know when I come up with it..i myself cannot let go of the Kohl eyeliner..a past life purrhaps 🙂 I have to say that the law of the land then protecting their cats was suitably harsh…walk like an Egyptian boys! 🙂

    • Thank you for your reply. We are all honoured 🙂
      Mr Midnight asked if he could now receive an extra portion of food sticks because of you liking his story.
      Sir Winston told him to not be so greedy. The way Mr. Midnight carry´s on he´ll eat me out the house!
      Best regards from the three of us.

"The lads" and myself would appreciate your feedback.

