Freedom to roam

MM-Avatar       What was all that hullabuloo last night Sir Winston?

You were making a right racket.  When I came out to investigate what you were up to there was no sign of you.

SW-Avatar       I had some business to attend to.

I couldn´t help the noise because I was acting with my natural instincts.

MM-Avatar       But there were more of you than just yourself. One couldn´t help over hear all the hissing and fighting.

SW-Avatar       Precisely.

There were two of us.  That great big cat from up the road decided to pass through my territory and my natural instincts got the better of me.

MM-Avatar       I know it´s unusual for a cat but I´m not really too bothered about who comes and goes through our neighbourhood.  The green kingdom is for everyone Sir Winston.

From what I´ve heard, freedom to roam is also a big human issue at the moment. Lots of humans are frightened they are going to be taken over by other “foreign” individuals. It seems to be the sign-of-the-times.

SW-Avatar       I just can´t help squabbling Mr Midnight.  Everytime another pussycat sneaks through my territory I feel I have to protect my kingdom in some way. I know it´s daft but my natural instincts will not leave me alone in such circumstances.

I suppose it has something to do with the fact that I need to be free.

MM-Avatar       Freedom is certainly worth fighting for and indeed, when we have freedom in our lives we often so easily forget how our freedom came to be.

Freedom is definetly worth fighting for – but everynight Sir Winston?

Don´t you get tired of all that fighting?  I cherish the fact that I am free but fighting is too stressy for me and doesn´t fit to my cool image.

SW-Avatar       I´m trying to get a hold of myself. Just give me some time and I`m sure I´ll sort out my habit.

I believe Human beings in the Western world believe that they live in freedom but when one examines the sad traits of their governments; all the spying Governments do behind their citizens backs and all the rules, regulations and vicious propaganda attached to modern society, one could easily see a different picture.

Democracy seems to have taken a turn for the worse and populism and authoritarianism are also making their way around the globe.

That is why freedom must never become taken for granted.

MM-Avatar       A Mr Thomas Jefferson once said that “Eternal vigilance is the price of freedom”.

How true his words ring in the 21st Century.

SW-Avatar       Here is a quote from a favourite past person of mine;  Mr Edmund Burke.

He once said, “A state without the means of some change is without the means of its conservation”.

He also said “the greater the power, the more dangerous the abuse” and “you can never plan the future by the past”.

My favourite quote from this gentleman is; “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing”.

MM-Avatar       A lot of our so-called human world “leaders” could learn a thing or two from that gentleman.  It´s a shame he died so many years ago.

Oh well, we´ll just have to make the best of things I suppose.

SW-Avatar       And I promise I will try and stop my antics everytime a foreign cat steps into our vicinity.

Freedom must often be fought for but I´ll try and respect anothers freedom.

Copyright MAGS 2017

 
"The lads" and myself would appreciate your feedback.

