Going Backwards

       Daddy, is it true what Sir Winstons been saying?

He´s upset me a little because I believed I lived in a wonderful kingdom with lots of great opportunities and great things happening.

       What´s he been saying to you then Mr Midnight? Perhaps he´s telling tall stories.

       I honestly didn´t want to upset you Mr Midnight. I was only stating what I had discovered the other day.

       Can you stop beating about the bush Sir Winston and inform us of what you´ve discovered?

       I found one of those shiny metal things lying on the living room table and next to it that booklet thing had fallen onto the floor and  had come to rest upturned displaying lots of words.

       You mean your curiosity go the better of you and you pulled the thing accidently onto the floor.

       Well it was only a CD so it doesn´t really matter.

What were the words or lyrics about Sir Winston.

       Well I was a bit baffled at first because just like Mr Midnight, I also assumed with live in a beautiful world. I love my little patch of the planet.

       Get to the point Sir Winston!

       The booklet was from that new album from daddy´s favourite band – Depeche Mode.

The album is called “Spirit” and I read the lyrics from the first song on the album.

Here they are:-

GOING BACKWARDS

We are not there yet
We have not evolved
We have no respect
We have lost control
We’re going backwards
Ignoring the realities
Going backwards
Are you counting all the casualties?
We are not there yet
Where we need to be
We are still in debt
To our insanities
We’re going backwards
Turning back our history
Going backwards
Piling on the misery
We can track it all with satellites
See it all in plain sight
Watch men die in real time
But we have nothing inside
We feel nothing inside
We are not there yet
We have lost our soul
The course has been set
We’re digging our own hole
We’re going backwards
Armed with new technology
Going backwards
To a caveman mentality
We can emulate on consoles
Killings we can control
With senses that have been dulled
Because there’s nothing inside
We
       I can see why you made Mr Midnight sad.  The whole album is written in this manner which personally, I find quite good because sadly, we human beings often choose to ignore our surroundings.
I´m glad to see that some people are switched on.
You see, we humans know an awful lot about how our planet works but hardly any of us wish to take responsibility to rectify our path. We seem to believe that somebody else other than ourselves is going to make things better.
       Then you humans are just as naive as us cats believing we live in a wonderful kingdom.
Although our little world appears to be perferct, in reality, it is actually falling to pieces.
       Some of you are trying to mend things though aren´t you daddy?
       There are some, yes, but the majority (myself sometimes included!) often wish to ignore our reality.
Human beings will often conveniently ignore reality until something disastrous happens and then when things have quietened down again we will often carry on as though nothing has happened.
The lyrics above really do hit the nail on the head.
       Well I´m not going to stop believing in you human beings. I´m sure one day you´re all going to get it right.
       And I´ll second that opinion Mr Midnight!
(C) Copyright MAGS 2017
Lyrics  “Going Backwards”  (C) Martin L. Gore 2017

 

"The lads" and myself would appreciate your feedback.

